One True Loves

BDA4F3FE-668B-42AE-9491-AAB43FEC6558_zpslrdcyy3t.jpg~original.jpg

As you all know, I read a lot of books, but very rarely do I read one that I find profound.  Taylor Jenkins Reid gave me all the feels with her new release One True Loves.  This book was just released last week (June 7th) and was picked as the “best book of the summer”, so of course I jumped right on it!  I was rocked to my core after reading this and I am still not sure how Emma and I both survived. This book will leave you emotionally raw from the twisted love triangle of the main characters and is only intensified by the real life experiences that no one should ever have to go through.

Summary


Emma Blair and Jesse Lerner were high school sweethearts.  They grew up, got married and have been traveling the world while photographing and writing about all the top destinations on everyones bucket lists.  Emma’s life was perfect, that is, until her husband goes to Alaska to photograph the icebergs and never returns.  This story goes through the turmoil that Emma felt while trying to overcome the lose of her husband and pick up her life.  

After two years of grieving and just trying to get through each day, Emma’s life takes an unintentional turn.  She runs into her best friend from high school, Sam, and they immediately hit it off.  Emma never thought she would be able to love again, but Sam is able to show her to not only love again but to also start living her life.  It doesn’t take long before they are engaged and planning their big day, but all of that she has built will soon be questioned when her husband, Jesse, is found alive.

Thoughts


Do you ever truly get over your true loves in life or do you just simply move on while still loving them?  Will Emma be able to decide who she is supposed to be with before it is too late and she is left with no one?  This book will make your heart ache for every single character.  I was happy and then I cried and then I was happy again.  I didn’t quite know who I wanted her to be with, but around every corner was some new kind of heartbreak.  Someone was bound to get hurt.  They always say, three’s a crowd, and in this case that is correct.  Emma can’t be married and have a fiancé.  It isn’t about who she loves more, but who the best person for her is.  She became a different person after Jesse died and maybe the Emma he knew died that day with him.

This book lived up to all of the hype.  I 100% recommend you all to read this book sooner rather than later.  I could not put it down!  I hope you all love this book as much as I did.  

Love,

Bri

Leave a Reply

