Journaling

In light of Mandy Moore posting a throwback thursday (TBT) picture from A Walk to Remember, I decided to write about my journal that I keep.

mandy-moore-instagram-tease-160429_255e9616beab619700871f4e8dba974b.jpg

Now if by some chance you have not seen the movie and you therefore don’t know why I would be writing a blog about a journal then by all means let me fill you in!  If you have seen the movie, then please just bare with me while I explain it to these less fortunate people!

::SPOILER ALERT::

In the movie Mandy Moore’s mother dies when she is very young and she leaves her behind this journal and it is filled with anything and everything.  She writes down her thoughts, poems, lyrics to her favorite songs, how she feels about the world etc…  This is a very important belonging to Moore’s character because it allows for her to carry a piece of her mother with her and it allows her to see a side of her mother that she never got to know because she died so young.

Since I saw this movie I always thought that was something I wanted to do.  Well now I have a 4 year old daughter and I have a full journal and am already working on my 2nd one.  I write her notes, draw her pictures, leave her my favorite quotes from movies and songs and even have my favorite things lists.  I will give it to her on her 18th birthday as something special for her to keep and show her children.

If you decide to make your own there is nothing special that you need to put in it.  Just write about whatever you are thinking about at that moment.  Some of the stuff in mine is not always happy.  I recently have been writing about how I feel about different world events (ie. Paris attacks).  It will be a firsthand point of view that she will be able to look back on and read.  

I have even done daily writings where I wrote something different about myself every day… favorite food at the time…favorite movie at the time…favorite color…etc…

I hope my inspiration from the movie will help to inspire someone else to make a journal for someone special in their life.  

Happy writing!

Love,

Bri

2 thoughts on “Journaling

  1. That is cool! My mom kept a journal while my older brothers were young, until a few months after I was born. It was just something she did, she hadn’t thought about any of us reading it someday. When I discovered it as an older teen, I *loved* fast forwarding to her pregnancy with me and reading through it! It’s not always happy (I haven’t been pregnant, but I get that the last month or so is uncomfortable!), but it’s her and her life with my family. 🙂 Plus, it was the 80s, so she didn’t know if I was going to be a girl, and scribbled down names for me and guesses about why I was probably going to be a son. 😛 Your daughter will love it!

    Like

  2. I absolutely love this idea. Getting to read or hear about things from when you parents were kids is so fascinating. I am hoping my daughter will enjoy it as well! You are so lucky to have something like that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

