Bared to Who?

One of my biggest pet peeves when it comes to a book is when I start reading it and find out that it is part of a series.  

I know you know what I am talking about.  You are reading your book, minding your own business, you get more and more invested with every passing moment, all the while never knowing what is actually coming.  You think you have a standalone book (or at least all the books in the series) and then B A M…You get to the end and you have absolutely no idea what has happened. What is wrong with the main character?  Why does he always push people away?  What is the secret he is hiding? You want to know so bad it is killing you and now you are forced to wait for the next book,  which isn’t coming out until next year?  You have got to be kidding me…!

No one has done this to me better that Sylvia Day with Bared to you.  I was so excited for these books.  I was coming off of the Fifty Shades of Grey high and these books were right up my alley.  The Bared to You books were better written than Fifty Shades, I didn’t have an inner goddess jumping off of every other page (I still love you E L James), and I read the first 3 books back to back, not knowing that there was no ending in sight. Book 4 finally came out a year later and I thought I am was going to find out what happened and again I was WRONG.  Then finally the 5th and final book was announced and has now come out (April 2016) but now the problem is I have completely forgotten what happened in the other books.  I have read about 30 books since then.  Do I go back  and reread them or just stop and say screw it and move on.  Can I really do that?  I feel like I have invested so much time into these books and I still want to know what is going to happen.

Secretly I know the answer to this question.  I am going to suck it up, skim through the other books and then go buy the 5th book so I can read it and finally figure out what the hell is going on with Gideon Cross.  Well played Sylvia… Well played…

So here is my official concession.  Look for my review in the next couple of days!

Love,

Bri

Leave a Reply

