Rainbow Juices

Juicing is a great way to get your daily vegetables and fruits, without having to eat multiple plates of them in a day.  Did you know that the average 30 year old female (that is me) should be eating 2 cups of fruit and 2 1/2 – 3 cups of vegetables a day?  That is almost 5 cups  in a day of just fruits and vegetables.  Maybe that doesn’t seem like a lot to some of you.  Maybe some of you eat all of your daily recommended values of all the food you are required to eat…  GOOD FOR YOU if you fall into that category!  I however do not fall into that category.

I am kind of a picky eater. Basically I have 3 food groups that I enjoy… Meats… Potatoes…. Sweets…  I have gotten better over the years, but I am still just not a huge vegetable fan.  Juicing was perfect for me to get all my nutrients that I was not getting from the lack of vegetable variety in my diet.  The only vegetables  I did eat were salads (lettuce), tomatoes (does salsa count?), zucchini/squash, carrots and potatoes.  That’s it.  I didn’t like to branch out.  I don’t like the texture of most vegetables and I never developed a taste for the rest of them.

So back to juicing.  When looking for recipes I found a ton that had some weird or gross things in them; kale, sweet potato, beets, broccoli, avocado, brussel sprouts.  GROSS…

Needless to say I was going to have to modify these recipes before I went into this juice cleanse!  So below are a few of my favorite recipes!  Enjoy!


Rainbo(aka Brown)

1 Granny Smith Apple

5 Carrots

1 Cucumber

1 Ginger Root Thumb

1 Lemon

1 Pear

3 Spinach

 

Sunset

2 Golden Delicious Apples

1 Beet Root

1 Carrot

1 Orange (peeled)

1 Sweet Potato (peeled)

 

Creamsicle

2 Granny Smith Apple

3 Celery Stalks

1 Orange (peeled)

2 Pears

1 Sweet Potato (peeled)


To take it even a little farther, I was counting my calories as well when I did this juice cleanse.  Do you know how hard it is to count the calories of a juice?  Impossible.  Well, impossible until I found a nifty little calculator online.  You put in the whole fruits and vegetables that you used and it spits out what the juice portion of it would be.  Hopefully this will help save you some time! Juicing calorie counter.

Love,

Bri

Leave a Reply

